

Kent City Health Department Death Certificates Records Request by Mail Instructions



Notice to All Vital Statistics Customers: Pursuant to Ohio Revised Code 3705.29, it is unlawful to purposely obtain, possess, use, sell, furnish, or attempt to obtain, possess, use, sell, or furnish to another for the purpose of deception any certificate, record, or certified copy of it that relates to the birth of another person, whether living or dead.

Records Available:

This Vital Statistics office issues requested certified copies of filed Portage County Ohio death records dated 1909-present.

<u>Hours of Operation:</u> 8:00 am until 4:00 pm, Monday – Friday; closed for: New Year's Day, MLK Day, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving & Friday after, and Christmas Day. Phone/330-678-8109

Who Can Order A Record:

Vital records (deaths and fetal deaths) are public records in Ohio. This means that anyone who can submit identifiable information of a record may request to inspect or purchase certified copies (see ordering and fee information below).

Death Certificates and Social Security Number:

As of October 15, 2015- per ORC 3705.23(5) for the first five (5) years after the date of death, the social security number of the deceased will not be included on the death certificate unless the requestor is:

- The deceased's spouse, or lineal descendant
- The deceased's executor, attorney, or legal agent
- A representative of an investigative government agency
- A private investigator

- A funeral director (or agent responsible for disposition of the body) acting on behalf of the deceased's family
- A veteran's service officer
- An accredited member of the media

Individuals requesting a death certificate with the social security number included should indicate it on their application and must submit satisfactory validation documentation to our office.

Ordering Portage County Ohio Death Certificates Online (Fastest):

For your convenience, certified copy orders can be submitted quickly and safely online at: https://kentoh.permitium.com using *VitalDirector by Permitium*, *LLC*. Valid credit/debit payments are collected by Permitium, LLC. American Express, Discover, MasterCard or Visa cards are accepted. Received orders are normally processed the same business day by the Kent City Health Department.

Ordering Portage County Ohio Death Certificates by Mail:

Please carefully complete page 2- application for certified death certificates. Mail to: Kent City Health Dept. 201-G E. Erie St., Kent, Ohio 44240. Be sure to include your preferred method of payment (check or money order) and <u>a self-addressed postage paid traceable return envelope</u>. Mail orders are normally processed within 1-3 business days once received.

*Fees:

In accordance with section 3705.24 of the Ohio Revised Code, we are required by law to charge a fee for each certified copy of a vital record issued. The Kent City Health Department fee for each certified copy of a birth record is \$24.00 each (see page 2). Please make all checks and money orders payable to: Kent City Health Department.

The Kent City Health Department is not authorized to issue or fax uncertified copies of death certificates.

All sales are final upon issuance, no refunds allowed. Exchanges will be considered by request within 2 years of issuance.

Kent City Health Department is not responsible for delays with mail or any shipment deliveries.

Revised: June 2024

Kent City Health Department - Vital Statistics

MAIL-IN APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED DEATH CERTIFICATES

*Mail Ordering: Must include a self-addressed stamped (postage paid) traceable return envelope

Note: Orders received are normally processed in 1-3 business days and will be sent in a customer provided return envelope with or without a traceable method. * Kent City Health Department is not responsible for delays with mail or any shipment deliveries.

MAIL TO: Kent City Health Department 201-G East Erie St. Kent, OH 44240

DEATH RECORD INFORMATION Please Print Clearly

First: Middle:		Last Name (as listed on Death Record):		
Date of Death:	What City in Portage Cou	nty did Death occur?		
Please complete if the death occurred in the last 5 years, per ORC 3705.23(5):				
Social Security Number Intact? *YES of The deceased's legal spouse, or lineal described (husband, wife, child, grandchild) ■ The deceased's everyther attempts or legal.	cendant	☐ A veteran's service officer☐ An accredited member of the media☐ None of the above		
 □ The deceased's executor, attorney, or legal agent □ A representative of an investigative government agency □ A private investigator □ A funeral director (or agent responsible for disposition of the body) acting on behalf of the deceased's family 		*Applicable Proof Required: Attach copies of document(s) such as: the Will and/or I.D. with Birth Certificate or Credentials.		

PURCHASER'S INFORMATION Please Print Clearly:

Purchaser Name	Date	
Street Address	Phone#	
City, State, & ZIP	Signature	

CHARGES:

Payment Options:	*Make check or money orders payable to: Kent City Health Department	CHARGES # of copies requested:
*Check or Money	Returned (NSF) checks - \$20.00 Fee The Kent City Health Department is not authorized to	x \$24.00 EACH
Order	Issue or fax uncertified copies of death certificates. All sales are final upon issuance, no refunds allowed. Exchanges will be considered by request within 2 years of issuance.	Funeral Homes: + Burial permit \$3.00 Yes / No